2013 forecast

The tough 2012 is gone. Not only did we turn into 2013, but also the “tough” part of 2012 did not come in the way many people have expected.

2012 started not too bad in Q1 but was quickly dominated a lot of bad news. In HK/China, there were disappointed earnings, company fraud, fear of hard landing, shallow banking, change of leadership…In Europe/US, there were prolonged debt crisis, exit of Greece, the collapse of Euro, Fiscal cliff in US, etc.

However, looking backward, as predicated by behavior economics, we always over-estimated the probability of these events and some of us missed the big rally in 2012, whether it being equity, fixed income, or others.

Going forward, I believe 2013 is a tough year.

Decision making is quite simple in 2012 for people who believe in mean-reversion. Economy, earnings, valuation will return to the long term average. Plus, with so many “risks” being discussed everyday, the chance of them coming true is skewed, and make equity market more attractive.

For 2013, I am bullish but it is much more complicated. First, most people are bullish, or at least much less bearish than 2012. Second, most of the “risks” in 2012 “seems” gone and any chance of them coming back, or “seems” coming back may come as surprise. Third, if the market continues to rise, as a value investor I will face fewer investment opportunities and the decision to hold, sell or short would be really challenging.

After a few weeks of thinking, I still have no idea what 2013 will look like. But with uncertainty and no solution, I decided to do 3 things: read broader, think more and do less.

PS: When formulating my 2013 forecast, I was reading past newspaper (HKET) dating the first few days in the past few years. Interestingly, there was always an article that pull together HSI forecast from various source. And below I summarized them in a chart. Well, I found some patterns there, however, they may be just noise.

HSI

Example of 2010 forecast from HKET:
2010

 

 

27 Responses to “2013 forecast”


  1. 1 Anonymous 2013/01/10 at 8:46 pm

    Long time no see your new post wor, Danny!!!

    Hope everything is fine !!!

    Thx for the detail and with heart analysis again!!!

    Br,

    ZAP

  2. 2 Manfred 2013/01/14 at 9:54 am

    Hi, good to see you back.

    There are a number of Chinese company listed now here in Germany, and some have extremely low valuations. I am aware of frauds with US listed companies but I find it difficult to make up an opinion about these companies, perhaps you have one as you are closer to their market. A comment would be appreciated very much.

    For example, a new listing from last year is Ming Le Sports

    Their data is almost too good to be true. PE < 2, high revenue and profit growth despite sector crisis and they are supposed to declare a nice dividend shortly.

    http://www.mingle-sportswear.com/investor-relations/news/corporate-news/detail-view/article/ming-le-sports-zeigt-sich-nach-den-ersten-neun-monaten-2012-hoch-profitabel-1.html

    Their business appears to be real, they have over 3500 outlets, I just have no clue what could be wrong with them. Despite those outstanding numbers, there has been a seller in the market and share price has not yet reached the gong public price.

    • 3 Danny Yung 2013/01/17 at 12:31 am

      Hi Manfred,

      I took a quick look on the company you mentioned. There is no conclusion about it but below are few points for reference:

      1) Its competitors listed in HK have stores in the range of 5,000-10,000
      2) It uses distributor model, same as others, which is easy to “record” sales by passing through to distributors but usually with official or unofficial buyback commitment, as seen by those listed in HK
      3) Its sales/profit growth trend is very similar to those listed in hk, and they are now facing sales decrease of 20%+ and profit drop of 30-50% or even loss

      You may consider some very conservative valuation, few months ago, some of those smaller sportwear players in HK are trading at 10% historical yield and one is trading at less cash on hand

      Danny

  3. 4 Cathleen 2013/04/17 at 10:43 am

    constantly i used to read smaller content which also clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading at this time.

  4. 5 Wanda 2013/04/28 at 12:56 pm

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the greatest sites on the net.
    I will recommend this web site!

  5. 6 unusual iphone 4 cases 2013/04/29 at 4:18 am

    Quality posts is the crucial to be a focus for the visitors to visit the site, that’s what this web page is providing.

  6. 7 cool iphone 4 cases 2013/04/29 at 11:30 pm

    For most recent information you have to go to see world-wide-web and
    on web I found this website as a best web site for most recent
    updates.

  7. 8 iphone 4 case 2013/04/30 at 10:39 pm

    Great website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any
    forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Kudos!

  8. 9 forex Trading strategy forum 2013/07/19 at 12:03 am

    An early decision you must make is how you want to access to
    the stock market. If you want to be a passive trader and leave the management to an industry professional,
    mutual funds are good options that provide automatic
    portfolio diversficiation. If you are more of a do-it-yourselfer, then
    picking and trading your own stocks is possible too.

    Splitting your investment between both is a choice
    that some do as well.

  9. 10 bank mutual funds 2013/08/05 at 2:02 pm

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you
    may be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back at some
    point. I want to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  10. 11 money management 2013/08/05 at 2:35 pm

    This paragraph is in fact a good one it assists new net people, who are wishing for blogging.

  11. 12 financial bpo 2013/08/05 at 2:57 pm

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic
    blog!

  12. 13 signs stress dogs 2013/08/09 at 1:32 pm

    It’s awesome for me to have a site, which is beneficial for my know-how. thanks admin

  13. 14 scrapbooking die cut machines 2013/08/23 at 4:30 pm

    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to
    shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

  14. 15 new york tours 2013/08/23 at 5:38 pm

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I
    am experiencing issues with your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t
    subscribe to it. Is there anybody else having the same RSS issues?
    Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  15. 16 diabetes care 2013/09/19 at 5:04 am

    I am curious to find out what blog platform you
    happen to be utilizing? I’m having some minor security
    issues with my latest blog and I’d like to find something more safe.

    Do you have any solutions?

  16. 17 Denton locksmith services 2013/10/10 at 11:25 am

    It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this helpful information
    with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  17. 18 Melaine 2014/01/23 at 5:20 pm

    Why visitors still use to read news papers when in this technological world everything
    is existing on net?

  18. 19 Julian 2014/02/02 at 10:43 am

    I am really thankful to the holder of this
    website who has shared this fantastic paragraph at at this time.

  19. 20 Nannie 2014/02/02 at 10:53 pm

    I hardly leave a response, but i did a few searching and wound up here 2013
    forecast | The Alchemy of Investing. And I do have
    2 questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be simply me or does it appear
    like a few of these responses look like they are coming from brain
    dead individuals? :-P And, if you are posting on additional social sites, I would like
    to follow everything fresh you have to post. Could you
    make a list of all of your communal pages like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?

  20. 21 forex trading 2014/08/08 at 5:03 pm

    Hello very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing ..
    I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also?

    I am glad to seek out so many helpful information right here in the put
    up, we need work out more strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  21. 22 remote cell phone spy app free 2014/09/06 at 2:10 am

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work
    and coverage! Keep up thhe good works guiys I’ve incorporated you guys too my blogroll.

  22. 23 how to spy on my girlfriends cell phone for free 2014/09/07 at 12:06 pm

    If some one wants to be updated with mokst up-to-date technopogies afterward he must be
    visit this website and be up to date all the time.

  23. 24 spy on my boyfriends cell phone 2014/09/07 at 12:20 pm

    I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody els
    know such detailed about my problem. Youu are amazing!
    Thanks!

  24. 25 free cell phone spy download pc 2014/09/09 at 9:56 pm

    Thankks foor your personal marvelous posting!
    I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will be sure to
    bookmark your blog and will eventually ome back later
    iin life. I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

  25. 26 free remote cell phone spy app 2014/09/11 at 5:47 pm

    Quality posts is the key to interest the peeople to go to
    see the web page, that’s what this site is providing.

  26. 27 cell phone spy download 2014/09/13 at 11:12 pm

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right
    here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you
    wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly the same
    nearly a loot often inside case you shield this increase.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

